Have courage and be kind.

Hearts have been finding me lately. Perhaps as a reminder to be kind to myself while I fight this current episode of depression. Or maybe as a reminder that there are people in my life who love me. Or simply, as a token that I have the fortitude to win yet another battle.

I’m on the upswing of this fight. I saw the psychiatrist a couple weeks ago, and we added a mood stabilizer to my current medication. I feel good- the best I have felt in a long time. Sometimes, I think to myself, “Is this what normal people feel like?” It’s exhilarating and encouraging… but it also means on bad days I beat myself up more than usual. But as my husband so gently reminds me, it’s ok to have bad days.

And so, I keep fighting. One day at a time. One step at a time. Right foot, left foot, right foot.

IMG_0785

Leave a Reply

